Scholarships Update this Week

Thomas E. Huey, Jr. Memorial Scholarship: BLSA, a Chapter of NALS, Inc., the association for legal professionals, will award its Thomas E. Huey, Jr. Memorial Scholarship to a high school senior in January 2018. Scholarship applications will be accepted based upon 50% financial need, 40% grade point average (minimum 3.0) and 10% achievements and accomplishments. In addition to a completed application, students must provide a copy of their transcript, a letter of recommendation from either a business teacher or a counselor, and a typewritten biographical statement in narrative form stating school attending, activities, honors, clubs, employment, outside activities, family background, and qualifications for this scholarship. A copy of the first two pages of parents’/guardians’ 2016 income tax return (filed 2017) is also required for income verification. See Ms. Molly in College & Career for an application. Applications and supporting documents must be postmarked by December 31, 2017.

Linly Heflin Scholarship: The Linly Heflin Scholarship Committee grants four-year scholarships in the amount of $5,000 per year to a limited number of Alabama women who have both significant economic need and sound academic records. Scholarships are restricted to four-year, Alabama, SACS accredited colleges and universities. The minimum requirement for ACT is a composite score of 23. Applicants must be an Alabama resident and a U.S. citizen. Visit website for application. Deadline is December 31, 2017.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Program Scholarship is an achievement-based scholarship awarded to graduating high school seniors. Students are recognized for their capacity to lead and serve, as well as their commitment to making a significant impact on their schools and communities. With the 29th class in 2017, the Foundation has provided over 5,850 Coca-Cola Scholars with more than $63 million in educational support. 150 Coca-Cola Scholars are selected each year to receive this $20,000 scholarship. Apply now!  The deadline for submission is 5 p.m. Eastern on Tuesday, October 31, 2017.